BLOWN AWAY

I am completely blown away by the responses to the survey.  The Good, The Bad, The Ugly and everything in between.

THANK you all and I hope you will keep sharing the project.  I’m a big believer in “there’s no such thing as too much information” whether it is one person’s experience or the collection of information from many people.  There are over 100 responses thus far and I haven’t done much to promote this project.  Yet.

I am All In, fully committed to seeing this through.  The fact that the surveys are being completed now, while I have several irons in the fire, completely unrelated to cancer advocacy, is laying the foundation for what I know I will be doing once all of these fires are extinguished.

I’ve shared on my chemobrain blog some of the challenges I’m dealing with right now.  Close family members need my attention with their own health issues.  Thankfully, my mom is not in that category.  Her bone metastasis is stable.  Fighting for prescription renewals with my new insurance company is huge.  Apparently, this is a theme many of us are experiencing.  I kid you not when I say it took ten days and the Chief Medical Officer of the health insurance company to get involved.  There have been ongoing marital issues that may, one day, be the topic of yet another book.  Let’s just say it would make for a good story, one of those, “you can’t make this shit up” stories.  That appears to be on track for a happier than expected result.

Your responses are honest.  They are raw and there is such power in your words.  As this has started to gather a bit of steam, my mind is off in several directions.  I know there are several clinicians involved in their own projects to explore how they may help us.  We all need to be seated at the same table to change any conversation.  It is not exactly easy to pull up a seat to this table which is why I am determined to seek as many perspectives as I can.  Hopefully, I have created a safe and comfortable space.

So many of you have left me contact information.  I am compelled to (for now at least) offer a blanket and public thanks.  A number of you have addressed your narratives to me, “Hi AnneMarie…..” and I can’t begin to tell you how that makes me feel.  I am deeply grateful that you have trusted me with your stories.  I hope to make the time to respond personally to each of you who left an email address.  That is on a very long To Do list, but in my heart, it is one of my top priorities.  The day to day stuff that I struggle with is completely amok.  It was recently pointed out to me that I have significant amounts of paperwork in every room in my home except the bedroom.  There’s a bit of dark humor in there given the nature of this project.

On a separate and also related note, Happy Valentine’s Day!

With love and gratitude,

AnneMarie

Standard